a

Rose Epple, a.k.a. Rose Apple, is an internationally acclaimed designer, curator, author and design educator. You can find all about her work on www.roseapple.net.

If you want to teach design skills, explore topics from a child’s perspective or have other ideas for working with children, please get in touch. I am happy to conceive and put into practice workshops, publications or products for and with children.

Children are my favourite project partners. Together we have designed everyday items in a weekly Design-It-Yourself Club, created a school yearbook, tested Design Thinking methods in a school and invented things in the museum.

Why I think practising design is a valuable cultural skill for kids, is spelled out in my manifesto. But I have another motivation for designing with kids. That is my endless curiosity about what they will produce. What are they dreaming of, what do they really need and what ideas do they have for everyday problems of our world?

Kids’ creativity does not have to be just an end in itself or a vehicle to impart knowledge, but we adults can actually learn something from them!

a

Rose Epple, alias Rose Apple, ist international tätige Designerin, Kuratorin, Autorin, Design-Dozentin und -Vermittlerin. Mehr über ihre Arbeit finden Sie auf www.roseapple.net.

Wenn Sie Design Kompetenz vermitteln, Themen aus Kindersicht erforschen oder andere Projektideen mit Kindern durchführen wollen, sprechen Sie mich an. Gerne konzipiere und realisiere ich für Sie Workshops, Publikationen oder Produkte für und mit Kindern.

Kinder sind meine liebsten Projektpartner. Mit ihnen habe ich schon Alltagsdinge im wöchentlichen Design-It-Yourself Club gestaltet, Jahrbücher gelayoutet, Design Thinking Methoden in der Schule angewandt oder im Museum Dinge erfunden.

Warum ich Design als kulturelle Fertigkeit für Kinder sinnvoll halte, beschreibe ich in meinem Manifest. Aber es gibt noch einen anderen Grund für mich mit Kindern zu gestalten. Das ist meine Neugier auf das, was sie produzieren.

Wovon träumen sie, was brauchen sie wirklich und welche Lösungsvorschläge haben Sie für die Alltagsprobleme unserer Welt? Die Kreativität von Kindern muss nicht nur Selbstzweck, oder Vehikel zur Wissensvermittlung sein – sondern wir Erwachsenen können etwas von ihnen lernen!